Today is my last day in Vietnam, and I’m currently killing time in a lovely air conditioned cafe in Hanoi before my flight later this afternoon.

My trip from the park to Hanoi was straightforward and cheap – it cost me £7 for a 3-hour limousine ride, and even then I think I paid tourist prices, as the girl behind me paid a third of that. I’ve had three Grab rides so far, none of them costing over £2.

I thought I’d splash out for my final night, so booked a room at the Hotel Grand Du Lac, which is hands-down, the fanciest place I e ever stayed.

Upon my arrival, I was given a little tray of drinks and snacks while I waited in the exquisite lobby. After getting signed in, i quickly popped out a couple of streets away to get a Banh Mi from a local vegan place. After that, i had a walk around Hoan Kiem Lake, and do some people-watching. Then I headed back to relax in my small but lovely room. All the trimmings were provided (bathrobe, soaps, complimentary fruit etc), and the bed was soft and comfy.

After a quick shower (waterfall shower!), I headed up to the skybar on the roof, and had a Negroni while looking out over the cathedral.

It’s a hard life but I struggle on

Instead of eating dinner in the restaurant, I headed out to a local chain restaurant for a delicious curry, rice and spring rolls, with a lovely fresh fruit juice. So tasty!

MET Vietnamese Restaurant

I had planned to go to the night market, but my big dinner and the day’s travelling caught up with me, so I grabbed an ice cream and went back to my room to eat it in bed and watch some TV. The concierge called me in my room at 9pm to offer me a glass of ginger tea, which of course I accepted. Absolute luxury!

This morning I had breakfast in the hotel, then went out to try to find an analogue camera shop I’d seen on Google maps. It was a bit of a mission, and in the end I didn’t find anything I wanted to buy, but it was a good exercise in crossing Hanoi roads!

I’ve just checked out (boo!), and have a couple of hours to kill before I get a taxi to the airport, about an hour away. So, more food, and a proper iced Vietnamese coffee, and a walk around with my camera to finally take some photos.

I’d love to come back to Hanoi again, or maybe visit South Vietnam – despite my sterling efforts, there are still dishes I haven’t eaten. And in just 30-ish short hours (ugh), I’ll be home again. 💖

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started